I was talking to a friend of mine who recently got a job as a research assistant to a law professor looking at we could/should legislate a minimum ‘quality of life’ line to make decisions about who to save/let go clearer and simpler.
They are going to look at whether there is a minimum quality of life, which can define a viable life – where the patient is unable to make their wishes known.

My initial reaction was no – there are far too many factors involved in such a decision for a blanket legislation. Also for something this personal, I really feel the law should stay out – it should provide support for either action, but proscribe neither. But having also had a discussion about death on one of my forum rampages, it did get me thinking.
In Australia, and most western countries, we do shy away from death and the discussion of death.
Death is the ultimate limit, the final failure

“The USA is a nation which tends to find failure shameful, mortifying or even downright sinful…It is a nation of eager yea-sayers and zealous can -doers…American culture is deeply hostile to the idea of limit, and therefore to human biology. “Terry Eagleton, After Theory

Because of this fear and refusal to accept death as simply part of life, perhaps it means we never really engage with the idea of passing during our lives, and causing problems when it comes to treatment at the end of life.

I’ve never had to make the call, and people tell me that often once families see a code, they quickly decide not to call for it again, but I hope that I will gain the wisdom and strength to make the right choice when and if I ever have to.

I’ll probably return to this over time, its one of my favourite topics of mulling over. But here are some other perspectives

A beautiful post which expresses my thoughts far far better than my garbled musings can.

Religious perspectives on withdrawal of treatment from patients with multiple organ failure (Medical Journal of Australia)

